top of page
Search
  • wlpark7856

The Last Way Home Book Review




As a girl, I adored L. M. Montgomery's books. When the description of this book came across my path as a book set on modern-day Prince Edward Island, I jumped at the chance to read it. This book is the second in the series. While I have not read the first book, I did not issue with following the storyline.


The book centers around two people, Eli, an ex-NHL player who has returned home to the island after an eleven-year absence. He has come home having nowhere else to turn due mysterious circumstances that have gotten him kicked out of the NHL. Then there is Violet, with an equally mysterious past, who has made her home with Eli's family. She is desperate to protect them from any further damage Eli might cause. When a fire destroys part of the family business, they are thrown together to save it. Will they overcome their past to heal?


I thoroughly enjoyed reading about what life is like on Prince Edward Island, an island whose life is shaped by the tourist industry. However, the plot was predictable. It was also way too focused on describing Eli's physique. I grew tired on the numerous descriptions of his muscles as Violet tries to resist falling in love with him. Lightly sprinkled in are themes of forgiveness and restoration, but it's hard to focus on them.


If you want a clean romance novel, this book is for you. I, however, was disappointed in the book for its over-emphasis on the romance while the rest of the story felt like filler. I received a copy of the book as part of the Revell Reads blogger team.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page