top of page
Search
  • wlpark7856

One Bright Autumn Remembrance


When I was a nineteen year old girl, I had a vision in my head of a little girl playing in the leaves as I stared out my dorm window. I never imagined I would parent such a child. This is for my sweet birdie.

She chased after the golden leaves of autumn

Grabbing them with small, delicate hands

To raise them above her head

So that they could fall to earth again

Over and over this action she would repeat

While mounds and mounds of leaves

Gathered at her feet.

The symbols of changing time

Crimson, burnt orange, and gold

That turn their beauty to colors of mourning

Endless brown

Seen in the trees, the ground

Show so much more than is seen

And yet--reduce all thought to pure joy

Appearing in the merriment of the child

Moving through all the whispered meanings

Of shifting days

To celebrate ceaseless childhood

Alive in one bright autumn remembrance.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page