top of page
Search
  • wlpark7856

Autumn joys


Have you ever wondered about how much God enjoys the seasons? As I sat in a chair on my patio a few afternoons ago, a cup of steaming coffee in my hand, I pondered this. I soaked in the warmth of the late afternoon sun on my face. I enjoyed watching the leaves fall down. I marveled in the light passing through the many colored trees. I thought about how much rapture God experiences in each tiny part that I couldn't see. This poem is all about this.

Gather the starlight; Transverse the ebony

Ride the solar winds endlessly

Dance upon the waves of the rose-hued moon

The vibrations of the universe You attune.

Bounce on the breeze of an Indian summer

Snatch the foliage that You plunder

Blush in the sumac, the beech, the maple

Every element You gently cradle.

Cast down the hedge apple, acorn, and cone

Deliver the harvest golden grown

Direct the fowl to their winter abode

In this interval Your grace is bestowed.

Twist and twirl the seasons around

Astound in mysteries sacred and profound

Attire Yourself in nature's grandeur

Savor and possess all adoration, dearest Savior.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page