top of page
Search
  • wlpark7856

Song of Confession


I have started this new year with a study of the book of Nehemiah. As part of the reminder of the history of the book, the study guide directed to Daniel's prayer in Daniel chapter 9. It is this beautiful prayer of confession, begging God to forgive the sins of the nation.

As I soaked in the words, I pondered how many times in my life I have sung a song of confession. Yes, I have prayed prayers of confession, but I could never remember a time in corporate worship singing a song in which we, the congregation, confessed our sins before our holy and righteous Lord. What more humbling way could we teach ourselves and our children about the need for repentance for our sins? Without confession, our souls wither like my rose in winter.

Here is my weak effort in that attempt based on Daniel 9.

O Lord, the great and awesome

O God, mighty of hand

O Lord, compassionate and forgiving

O God, giver of perfect commands

We have sinned and been unfaithful

We have been wicked and turned away

We have rebelled and are shameful

We have transgressed and refused to obey

O Lord, give ear and listen

O God, pardon please

O Lord, look down and see

For Your sake, O God, forgive

Keeper of Your covenant

Maker of Your glorious name

Guardian of justice

Creator in righteousness

We have not sought Your favor

The list of our iniquities is long

We have ignored Your truth

We have applied ourselves to wrong

O Lord, give ear and listen

O God, Your pardon do not delay

O Lord, look down and see

O God, forgive us, we pray

O Lord, give ear and listen

O God, pardon please

O Lord, look down and see

O God Almighty, forgive.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page