top of page
Search
  • wlpark7856

Love on a Whim Book Review



Before I start this review, I want to note that have read all three books in the series and rated the first two as five stars. I was generous on the five-star rating on the second book but gave it props for some of its originality.



So, why didn't I feel the same about this book? Two main reasons. First, it's the same plot device of the first two books. Something "bad/life altering" happens to the protagonist, and she runs away to the island, makes life-altering decisions to "follow her heart," and lives happily ever after. In the first two books, this was more tempered with following God's will for your life in addition to the follow your heart. In this book, that's not as much the case. It's slightly thrown in but is diminished by my second reason. It gets hammered upon that using logic and reason can take you away from your "passions." That thrust becomes quite annoying, especially if you are a logical thinker. The picture is painted that this type of person is incapable of being "happy" in life if they do think things through as opposed to "following your heart."



Second, the message of salvation in the book. This is the one that got to me. By no means do I want some heavy-handed explanation of the gospel. The author is typically superb at weaving it in. This book did not have this. When certain characters "come to faith," it's only belief in God's existence and working in their lives, nothing more. No repentence, no Jesus, nada. Additionally, by suddenly believing in God's control and working as well as following your heart, everything works out in the end for the happily ever after. For me, this was a huge fail by the author.



There is one aspect of the plot that pleasantly took me by surprise, thus the three-star rating. Otherwise, the cookie-cutter plot, lack of character development of the protagonists, and the messaging all downgraded a great series.



I received an advanced reader copy as part of the Revell Reads Blogger team in exchange for my honest opinion.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page