top of page
Search
  • wlpark7856

While the Floods Still Rage


One of the amazing women in my Bible Study group said this phrase when describing faith. "It's like stepping into the Jordan while the floods still rage," which is a reference to Joshua 3:14-16. When she said it, I just knew it had to be a poem. It took me a few months to write, but here it is, trying to capture those moments of journeying in faith.


I'm traveling to the Promised Land

Not knowing what waits me there

I'm holding to Your covenant commitments

While life turns hope into despair.


I'm groaning for Your help

An alien and slave in a foreign nation

I'm traversing the wilderness

Guided to the sworn destination

I'm stepping into the Jordan

While the floods still rage.


I'm marching around Jericho

Waiting for the walls to fall

I'm cycling in devotion

Barely acknowledging You at all.


I'm weeping in the tabernacle

Turning anguish into prayer

I'm a stranger and an exile

Where each day seems a nightmare.

I'm stepping into the Jordan

While the floods still rage.


I'm walking on the water

With You in Galilee

I'm sinking in the sea

When doubts have overcome belief.


I'm crying out, "Lord, have mercy!

Open my eyes. Make me see."

I'm shouting, "Hosanna--

O Lord, save me!"

I'm stepping into the Jordan

While the floods still rage.


I cannot clearly envision

Where this journey of faith may lead

But let me keep on walking

Let this be my creed

I'll keep stepping into the Jordan

While the floods still rage.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page