top of page
Search
  • wlpark7856

Will You Meet Me Here?

Updated: Mar 2, 2020



This lyrical poem is a supposal, to steal the term from C.S. Lewis in the reference to the Chronicles of Narnia. It arose from my study of 1 and 2 Kings and biblical wilderness. It is a supposal conversation between Elijah and God. What if, instead of running and complaining, Elijah went to the wilderness to meet with the Lord? What would that look like?


I am waiting

Waiting in this wilderness

Waiting but wavering

Waiting.


I am straining

Straining in these silences

Straining to Know Your sufficiency

Straining.


When the questions of Eden

Ring too loudly in my ears

When You feel so absent

And Your goodness seems to disappear.

When surrender is the needed sacrifice

When the way looks so unclear

O, will You meet me?

Will You meet me here?


I am longing

Longing in this loneliness

Longing to move beyond

Longing.


I am praying

Praying all Your promises

Praying for Your providence

Praying.


When I'm driven to this barren place

When pain is ever near

When I fail to see You working

When the fiercest doubts appear

When surrender is the needed sacrifice

When the way looks so unclear

O, will you meet me?

Will you meet me here?


I am aching

I am yearning

I am clinging

Not forsaking

I am holding

I am hoping

I am finding

You are here.


When the questions of Eden

Ring too loudly in my ears

When You feel so absent

And Your goodness seems to disappear

When surrender is the needed sacrifice

When the way looks so unclear

You will meet me

O, You will meet me

You will meet me here.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page